Goodbye to Tasmania. Hello to Victoria.

I was here, there and everywhere after the road trip west of Tassie. I love being on the move all the time, seeing new people and places every day; it makes me feel liberated and excited to find out what each new day has to offer.

The ‘HelpX’ family in South Hobart welcomed me back. Weeding, looking after the baby and helping around the house was on the agenda for me work-wise. Leisure-wise, I pottered around Hobart and also caught up with a friend for lunch. Myself and Sam met months ago at a backpackers in town when I first arrived in Tasmania. We timed this meeting just right as he was going away the next day. That seems to be happening a lot recently – my plans just seem to fall into place without much effort at all.

After parting from the lovely lot in Hobart again, I made my way north back to Lance’s in Goshen. This time I opted to veer off the main highway to visit a few new places, namely Richmond, Oatlands and Ross.

Richmond is an early Australian colonial village with the popular Richmond Bridge; Australia’s oldest bridge which was built by convicts in the 1820s.

Oatlands is a historical – in Australian terms – village, strewn with sandstone buildings and home to Callington Mill. The mill was built in 1837 and is the only operating mill of its type (Lincolnshire tower mill) in the Southern Hemisphere.

The well-preserved town of Ross was built by convict labour in the early 1800s. After a brief stop in Ross I plodded on – giving a hitch-hiker a lift part of the way – to St Marys and the Purple Possum Cafe, which seems to have become a bit of a regular of mine.

DSC07803

Church in Ross

I stayed with Lance for a few days before getting on the road again, this time with the ‘mainland’ of Australia being my destination. En route to Devonport, where the ferry departs, I called at a few more towns I had yet to visit: Deloraine (a delightful riverside town), Railton (“town of topiary”, which I found a tad disappointing) and Sheffield (“town of murals”, more impressive).

DSC07812

View from Sheffield of Mount Roland

DSC07831

Sheffield murals

 

Myself and Lance’s Subaru boarded the ‘Spirit of Tasmania’ ferry for the night crossing of the Bass Strait to Melbourne. I found my bunk in the 4-bed female dorm, had a bite to eat and a shower, then tried exceedingly hard to get some shut-eye, but with a cold-ridden snoring roommate it was quite the challenge.

My excitement grew as a new adventure was imminent. Tasmania you were utterly delightful; now lets see what the state of Victoria has in store…

Liz

Leave a Reply

