Tassie weekend road trip!

What better way to spend a weekend than going on a road trip!? Even more specifically… a road trip which includes penny farthing racing, waterfalls, wineries, gorges, cheese, camping and great company!?

dsc05992-2

Another hard day in Tassie

A friend that I’ve made through my current help exchange family asked me if I fancied going north this weekend. I’d only just returned from my Bruny Island cycle tour and felt a little tired but I thought why not?

dsc06026

At Moores Hill winery in the Tamar Valley

We set off from Hobart on Saturday morning with the aim of arriving at the ‘Evandale Fair and National Penny Farthing Championships’ in time to see some racing action.  It was fantastic; so much fun. All the races were commentated on loud speaker – the excitement was almost too much! We were in awe of how steady they all looked and how fit some of the over 60’s and 70’s were, not to mention their fabulous outfits.

dsc05944

Evandale Festival and National Penny Farthing Championships. Go go go!

We camped at Lilydale Falls Reserve free camp site and spent the evening by the serene falls drinking wine, scoffing tasty food and having a good chat. Lovely.

dsc05963

Today we went for a beautiful walk around Cataract Gorge, just a few minutes drive from the city of Launceston, or Lonny to the locals. The rain ceased and the sun started shining just in time for our stroll.

dsc06005

Cataract Gorge, Launceston

Moores Hill winery was to be our penultimate stop of the weekend, up in the Tamar Valley wine region. Pure indulgence. Cheese, wine and hot chocolate – I’m loving life right now. Tasmania is slowly but surely winning my heart through my stomach.

dsc06031

Just a little excited!

Last up, Greens Beach on the northern coast of Tassie – possibly the furthest north I will get on the island. The sea was surprisingly warm.

dsc06035

Greens Beach

Pics of the Evandale Fair and National Penny Farthing Championships – 

Photos from the rest of the weekend – 

dsc05995

Cataract Gorge, Launceston

dsc06033

My first Tasmanian Devil road sign

dsc06044

Greens Beach

dsc06027

Cocobean dark hot chocolate at Moores Hill winery in the Tamar Valley – yum!

Now back to Hobart to continue my Aussie adventure 🙂

Liz

4 thoughts on “Tassie weekend road trip!

  1. Impressed that you recovered from Bruny Island so quickly. But I agree, best never to let an opportunity pass by. We loved Launceston and Cataract Gorge too. Seeing your photos brings back happy memories of our trip.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, you have to take these opportunities as they come up 🙂 I’m pleased that my photos bring back happy memories for you both. Cataract Gorge is beautiful. I am heading towards Freycinet NP tomorrow.

      Like

Leave a Reply

